SMART Tenants

Delivery organisation – The Learning Partnership for Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly

Project contact – Priscilla Samuel  |pasamuel@cornwall-learning-partnership.org |     07792 065321 |

The Learning Partnership fulfils the role of contract manager for a collective of delivery Partners who are specialists in terms of client groups or activity.  It has 15 years of experience of this through Objective One and Convergence and a reputation for effective, fair and inclusive partnership working.

Project summary

SMART Tenants aims to engage vulnerable social housing tenants through the housing associations and Food Banks.  It will develop programmes to support participants to stabilise their financial situation and prepare them for employment or job search.  This is a research project which will evaluate a range of different models developed by the partnership.

This is an Open Call project funded until December 2019.

Participant eligibility – Unemployed or economically inactive but wishing to gain employment.

Referral routes – All referrals will come through the Partner housing associations or Food Banks.

Delivery Partners

Cornwall Housing – Emma.West@cornwallhousing.org.uk
Engagement of participants in the former Caradon, Carrick and North Cornwall districts. Support of participants.

Coastline HousingClaire.Reeves@coastlinehousing.co.uk
Engagement and signposting of participants in the former Kerrier district to PCDT for support.

DCH –  Tim.Wotton@dchgroup.com
Engagement and signposting of participants in the former Penwith district to PCDT for support.

Ocean Housing – Debbie Goodreid. D.Goodreid@oceanhousing.com
Engagement and support of participants in the former Restormel district.

Wadebridge Foodbank – Jacqui White. contact@wadebridgefoodbank.org
Engagement and support of participants in the former North Cornwall district. Structured volunteering opportunities.

Cornwall Adult Education Service – Rob Sweetzer-Sturt
Rsweetzer-sturt@cornwall.gov.uk
Development and delivery of training functional skills and financial capability.

ECCABI – John Ede. john@eccavu.demon.co.uk
Co-production of training for financial capability, soft skills, confidence and progression into employment.

PDCT – liz.myhill@pcdt.org.uk
Delivery of 1:1 support for up to 3 months per household then signposting to CAES for functional skills/financial capability training.

The University of Exeter – Centre for Geography, Environment & Society
Dr Michael Leyshon. M.Leyshon@exeter.ac.uk
Research, longitudinal, formative and summative evaluations.

Investment & Outcomes

Investment

  • ESF – £1,373,905
  • Public Match – £70,348
  • Private Match – £273,371

Project Outcomes